Random Stream of Thought: Living in a Van

Is it worth it? To get out of Omelas? I’ve thought about it countless times. If I could just save up a bit more money…then I think about the upkeep. Oil changes, repairs, gas, permits…and I think, maybe not.

Sometimes I fantasize about buying a little piece of land somewhere, parking a trailer there and just living. Then I hear you can’t even do that without Omelas’ permission and I think…do we actually have freedom at all? It seems like Omelas’ has put a variety of legal roadblocks in place to keep people from escaping.

This world is fucked. And we’re in prison.

Leave a Reply

